by Chula Senaratne, UPF Sri Lanka

Universal Peace Federation of Sri Lanka conducted a Free Specialized Medical Clinic on 30th September 2017 in Moratuwa, Colombo district, Sri Lanka to commemorate the “UN International Day of Peace” which was on the 21st September 2017. This was jointly organized with the Colombo South Teaching Hospital and the Moratuwa Municipal Council. This year the theme was “TOGETHER FOR PEACE – Respect, Safety and Dignity for All”

Moratuwa is a city where all the religions of the community live in harmony. A clinic was organized targeting the less income families of the area. Promoting the theme this clinic provided the Specialized health care, Dental health care, Laboratory services, ECG facilities; Ultra sound scanning facilities, Health Education, free medicine and free reading glasses to around 1,000 people attended this clinic.

Hon. Eran Wickramaratne , State Minister of Finance / Chief organizer of the Moratuwa electorate was the chief guest of the event. Director of the Colombo South Teaching Hospital Dr. Asela Gunawardane , Provincial Councilor of the Western Province Hon. Morice Wijeratne, and the Commissioner of the Moratuwa Municipal Council  Mr.  M.C.K. Mannapperuma  graced the occasion as special guests.

Delivering the Chief guest’s address Hon. Eran Wickramaratne thanked UPF for taking the lead in organizing this kind of an event to mark the “UN International Day of Peace 2017” ,which is more meaningful and fitting  this year’s theme.

Dr. Chula Senaratne, Secretary General UPF Sri Lanka spoke on behalf of UPF and explained about the commitment of UPF towards Global Peace as a UN ECOSOC member organization.

Dr. Asela Gunawardane and Councilor Moris Wijeratne also spoke about the importance of these kind of events in this time of reconciliation in Sri Lanka.

Mr. Gayan Kahawela-National Organizer of UPF Sri Lanka delivered the message of the UN Secretary General Mr. António Guterres to mark the “UN International Day of Peace 2017”.  Commissioner of the Moratuwa Municipal Council, Mr. M.C.K.  Mannapperuma delivered the vote of thanks.


Click to see more pictures

Leave a Reply

  • (not be published)